Photo Country: Inspiring Stories of Photographers
Photo Country - Inspiring Stories of Photographers Around the World
Celebrating Nature through Photography - Ep. 38 - Rebecca Ronald
0:00
-46:20

Celebrating Nature through Photography - Ep. 38 - Rebecca Ronald

Nature Photographer from Avondale, Auckland
Transcript

No transcript...

www.photocountry.co

Hello beautiful people!

It’s been a while since I posted an episode on my podcast. I have been away on a visit to my homeland of Madurai, Tamilnadu, India. I had a wedding to attend. And boy was it hot! I was sweating buckets and I had buckets of fun too!!

I managed to catch a local festival and I had great fun shooting it. You can check out my photo essay on this. Head on over to my blog and have a look.

https://www.photocountry.co/posts/madurai-temple-festival

And now to Episode 38. Avondale, the neighborhood that I live in, has a lively community presence to it. As part of the local art space, All Goods, I have run many photo walks and workshops. One of my popular walks was to the Oakley Creek Waterfall - the only waterfall within the city limits of Auckland.

Rebecca Ronald, the guest on this episode, had participated and it had a significant influence on her photography practice. It’s gratifying to note that the work that I do has a positive influence on people!

Rajeev’s photography on Instagram: “Throwback to a photowalk to #oakleycreekwaterfall
July 9, 2023

Rebecca’s feed popped up on my Instagram when I noticed her work next to the Avondale Train Station, as part of a community art walk initiative by Whau The People, a local community organization.

Rebecca | Nature photography | Aotearoa on Instagram: ”💚 I love having my pics decorating the Avondale to New Lynn cycle path. 🌹Take time to stop and smell the roses (or view the leaves 😁) 🌿 Thanks @whauthepeople and @akltransport for supporting community arts! #westauckland #Avondale #NewLynn #supportlocal #aotearoanativeplants #cyclepath #NativeNZPlants #nativeplants #nativeflora #nznativetrees
#NZNatureArt #art #photography #natureInspiration #NZPlantPhotography #PlantPerfection #naturefix #nzphotography
#communityarts
#whau
July 17, 2023

Her work celebrates nature. They are all about the greenery that surrounds you. They are plants that we take for granted. And she is on a mission to educate the public about them.

Rebecca | Nature photography | Aotearoa on Instagram: ”“I wish I had...”
Are there things you want to do but keep putting off? Some things are better done imperfectly than not done at all.
#motivationquote
July 2, 2023

They are beautiful close-up shots of the leaves. If you get a chance, walk by the Avondale Train Station to have a look. They even have little QR codes which lead you to more information on the plants.

Rebecca | Nature photography | Aotearoa on Instagram: “Camera testing 2/3 - liking it more and more <3 Loquat leaf shot in my back yard, Auckland. Used a Canon camera, don’t ask me what settings because 🤷‍♀️ #leafveins are #magical #canonphoto
February 27, 2023

Greeting cards featuring Reb’s work are currently stocked at:

Check out her feed on Instagram - https://www.instagram.com/rebsleafylens/

Or Reb’s website - www.rebsleafylens.co.nz

Do have a look at my photography blog - www.photocountry.co for interesting articles on the art and poetry of photography.

Thank you for reading Photo Country with Rajeev. This post is public so feel free to share it.

Share

0 Comments
Photo Country: Inspiring Stories of Photographers
Photo Country - Inspiring Stories of Photographers Around the World
Photo Country is a podcast that explores the lives and stories of photographers from different countries and cultures. Each episode features an interview with a photographer who shares their passion, inspiration, challenges, and tips for capturing the beauty and diversity of the world. Whether you are a professional photographer, a hobbyist, or just curious about the art of photography, Photo Country will take you on a journey to discover how photographers see the world through their lenses.